top of page

Womxn of Stellenbosch #1

Tafara Makunike - A humble, beautiful and inspiring individual.

Q: Where were you born?

A: I was born in Zimbabwe but raised in South Africa.

Q: What makes you smile the most?

A: What makes me smile most is being around the people I love the most or people who make my existence feel like a blessing.

Q: If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be and why?

A: I know this sounds really corny or typical of me but they're so many things I would like to change in this world, but if could change one thing it would be the thing that I relate to most. It would be the condition of black women around the world and especially in South Africa. I wish this world was loving, rewarding, celebrating and accepting of black women. I would also really like to change the treatment of African foreigners in South Africa or maybe the treatment and conditions of all foreigners around the world.

Q: What is it like being a black womxn within the Stellenbosch campus?

A:Some days it's okay and normal but most days it's exhausting because of how I have to reassure myself of my worth as a black woman.

Q: What is a line/ quote/ poem/ song that you live by?

A: I will rise by Maya Angelo.

Q:What do you understand when you hear the words, “the future is womxn?”

A: The lives of the past and even present women have been fragmented but I believe that the future holds so much for women. Conditions of women are changing slowly but it's still change and it's empowering to witness this change in some way. So, the future is definitely women and I believe it always has been.


bottom of page