top of page

Womxn of Stellenbosch #6

Tebogo Dakile | Unapologetic go-getter | Chair of the Sonop Residence's Critical Engagement Committee | Brains behind WoS Topic of the Month.

Q: What lessons have you learnt from the womxn and matriarchs in your life that have helped you believe in your ability to occupy positions such as chairperson of the Critical Engagement and Leadership Development Committee?


A: I’ve watched and become one of the womxn who prepare meals to feed their families. What this has taught me is that womxn have the power to fuel others to perform. There are also just so many womxn in my life who are carving new pathways for themselves and other womxn. Seeing them impact really encourages me to draw from their strength. I think the biggest lesson I’ve learnt from them is that IT IS POSSIBLE AND YOU CAN DO IT!


Q: How do you overcome the societal norms that perpetuate the stereotype that womxn, especially womxn of colour, are not supposed to occupy such esteemed positions?


A: I am more inclined to pave new pathways rather than dull myself walking the rusty paths that are outdated with old-fashioned and oppressive ideologies. I think how I overcome the norms is by doing that exact thing which society shackles me from doing. I mean, society said I can’t, but here I am: black, womxn and in that position. In my lifetime, I would like to transform all societal norms and stereotypes that undermine, disenfranchise and marginalize womxn. I am dumbing the stereotype that womxn of colour are not worthy of occupying impactful positions and I’m replacing it with “black womxn are the bomb dot com and they will make you reach unimaginable heights”.


Q: How does your ideal Saturday look like? What do you like to do for fun?


A: Whenever I think of Saturday the first thing that comes to mind is my friend, Unopachido, prematurely waking my roommate and I up by waltzing into our room and shouting “GOOD MORNING WORLD!” Lol. I think an ideal Saturday for me entails good food, my friends, YouTube videos, some lovely reading material and guilt-free naps! I also absolutely love being adventurous and spontaneous. So, for fun I’ll go hiking or randomly go for ice cream in the AMs with my roommate and some friends.


Q: In a predominantly white, Afrikaans space that is so far from your home, how do you navigate the space all the while celebrating your heritage?


A: Remaining rooted to myself and my heritage is very important to me. I try as much as possible to have my thoughts articulate themselves in my mother-tongue and I extend this to my every day speech by speaking Tswana and other vernac as much as possible. I think my melanin is also just a celebration of my heritage on its own. Although the space is predominantly white and Afrikaans, I think my melanin and Tswana are bold enough to take a stand and exude a powerful presence.


Q: How do you know you’ve reached the ultimate level of living the student life?


A: I HAVE NO CURFEW! I can go wherever I want (even once the sun has set) without my parents asking me “o nagana gore o ya kae” (where do you think you are going)?

Tebogo is a 1st year BSc Molecular Biology and Biotechnology. She is definitely a Phenomenal Womxn to be on the lookout for.


bottom of page