top of page

Your Body Is Not An Apology

My body is not an apology. My body is not an apology. My body is not an apology. This will be my mantra this summer as the season for 'bikini bodies' is ripe while the media and society continue to perpetuate the idea that stretch marks and cellulite are the rotten fruits that do not fit the aesthetics that make one 'instagram-worthy'. In an age where glow ups are a highlight, the pressure is on for womxn to perfect an airbrush look not only on social media but in reality as well. Body shaming then becomes that crime that makes the bodies of womxn who are not represented as beautiful to feel like sin. In order for us to fuel and preserve a love and appreciation for ALL bodies, it is important that we begin to normalize bodies in their various organic states; particularly the ones that are otherwise not publicized and praised. My own stretch marks and cellulite have joined in on this conversation and are standing up against the narrative that dictates that they should be excluded from public appearance on beaches and photos because they are not welcome on my body. In a quest for radical self-love, this December I would like us to walk into a culture of no body shaming in legs that are in an array of sizes, shades, stripes and dimples, and be confident about it. I wish you all a holiday that is as beautiful as your organic bodies.

Image taken from: The Mirror Reflects


bottom of page