top of page

WOMXN OF STELLENBOSCH #8

Womxn of Soulitude spoke with Michaela Pritchard, co-founder of the KroeSies 101 blog. She’s in her third year currently studying BSc Molecular Biology and Biotechnology.

Q: Tell us what Kroesies 101 is about and what inspired you to create this platform for Womxn?


A: KroeSies101 is a natural hair blog my best friend and I started. We did it because we have a bit of an unhealthy obsession with hair, but also because hair is a big deal in the coloured community; our hair wasn’t sleek or straight enough, so it was something we both struggled with but as we got older, we became more comfortable with the way our hair looks. It makes us feel so beautiful. We want people to feel the same about their hair. However, people don’t really know how to deal with natural hair, so since we’ve learnt so much on our own, we figured we’d help women (we’re going to include men, though) love themselves in their rawest form.


Q: In your opinion, how do platforms like your blog and WOS contribute towards empowering Womxn and what would you like to achieve?


A: I think it is TOPS to encourage, support and hype each other up. (I felt so lekker when I was approached to speak about this even) It’s really nice to know you have some cheerleaders; it’s a source of comfort. When I started this, I said I literally just want to help people. I wanted to create a space where people can ask questions and give advice. Also, I’m the biggest hype-man on earth (ask any of my friends) so I just want to be there as people discover that they’re POPPIN’ and gas them up while it all happens.

Q: How has the environment of Stellenbosch contributed to the way in which you operate as a Womxn of colour rocking her natural hair?


A: This environment, surprisingly, helped the whole process along. Since there is a lot more diversity this side, people were very open to my hair. I got a lot of love for it and that helped me decide to do this thing full-time. I’m actually getting braids done later today, which I never thought I’d do because of the people around me hating so hard.


Q: Any natural hair tips you wish to share with our readers and who is your Natural Hair Crush at this moment?


A: This is a shameless self promo, but for ANY tips you can read the blog (kroesies101.blogspot.co.za) BUT I will tell you: deep condition weekly, get a satin pillowcase, use a wide tooth comb (BUY A DENMAN BRUSH) and, lastly, REMEMBER THAT YOUR HAIR IS POPPING. My hair crush is @frogirlginny. She’s my absolute FAVE.

Support Michaela’s vision and visit kroesies101.blogspot.co.za. Best wishes with this initiative from the WoS team.


bottom of page